RSS

10 Oct

Originally posted on Postmortem Studios:

It’s World Mental Health Day today. This isn’t something I’d planned to have ImagiNation out for, but there it is.

As I have, doubtless, bored you all to tears over by now I suffer from depression and it has been particularly bad this last couple of weeks. That means all I can really bring myself to do is lay around and beat myself up for not working harder. My depression most often manifests in a bone-weary tiredness, lack of concentration and self-belief. Qualities obviously necessary in the self-employed.

Weirdly, people say I’m very productive but I would be a lot more so without these issues.

I believe gaming can help people with a broad range of issues and I know I have personally benefited from the escape and the opportunity to safely deal with some of the things that grind me down. I’ve also seen it help people with anxiety, social…

View original 167 more words

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 10, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “

  1. Lili

    October 12, 2012 at 6:24 pm

    I’m right there with you, friend. In recent weeks my depression has been extremely severe, and yet certain people who claim to love me have said it’s a ploy and claim that I’m being manipulative and seeking attention if I ask directly for help- and no, I have not been a drama queen about it. Luckily my husband doesn’t see it like that and got me to a doctor when I admitted to having thoughts of self-harm. The medical community is often compassionate but society as a whole is ignorant, unfortunately.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 160 other followers

